February Wrap Up 

Every year, February feels like a dream. Nothing significant ever happens to me in February. I can’t tell if it’s because of the short month, the weird weather, or if Feb is really just doomed to be forever a placeholder month. This month has been pretty boring but kind of productive. I did read a lot of good books, though. In this post, I’m going to: quickly wrap up the books that I didn’t post a review for, touch on how I did with my goals, and reflect on this month as a whole. Let’s jump in. 

Book Wrap Up 

There are a couple of books I read that I didn’t write full reviews for, for whatever reason, or I wrote reviews for but didn’t post them, for whatever. First up is, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See. 

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan follows the life of Lily and her friend Snow Flower. They are a pair of laotongs, an emotional match that last through their lifetime. The book follows the pair through childhood, arranged marriages, pregnancies, and other major life events. It’s told from the perspective of Lily. 

I really enjoyed this book. This was my first contact with the footbinding so I learned a lot about that. This book it mostly about the importance of communication and how platonic love is just as important as romantic love, which are both concepts I support and can get behind 100%. I give this book 3/5 stars. 

Next up is Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. 

 Homegoing is able to expertly define characters in short periods of time. We get such a rich view of a vast family history. There’s never a point of confusion. There’s even a family tree included before the first chapter even begins. Even though each character only gets one chapter, the author still managers to fully introduce and really flush these characters out and it’s amazing to experience. 

This book was an amazing experience and an amazing story. It makes you wonder about your own family and wonder where you come from, what intricacies have been lost down generations, and what things have stood the test of time. I loved the concept and I thought it was expertly executed. There were times where I wanted more time with certain characters, where my heart broke for certain circumstances. Overall, 5/5 stars. Read this book. 

Favorite books this month 

  • What Lies Between Us by Nayomi Munaweera 
  • Missing You, Metropolis by Gary Jackson 
  • How to be Happy by Eleanor Davis 
  • Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward 

Goal Wrap Up 

  • 2/4 5ks ran, I lost steam and energy halfway through, honestly. It’s been weird. 
  • 5/10lbs lost 
  • More fruits and veggies ate! 
  • Book reviews for all the books I finished posted 
  • More water drank 
  • Daily writing in gratitude journal 
  • Exciting exciting exciting 

That’s all I have for you, February. It’s been weird. In a few moments, I’ll begin working on my March goals post. I wanted to make them seperate posts this month because I wanted March to stand on its own. Partly because it’s my favorite month and I have high hopes for it every year. How did you do for your February goals? 

Leave a Reply

