Things I can control 

Today’s post falls under the personal side of things but bear with me. “Things I can control” is a personal mantra, especially on really tough days. Sometimes it feels like everything is spiraling out of my control and so it’s really important for me to focus on things that I CAN control. Today is one of those days. I can’t tell you what I’m particular is off other than my general brain chemistry, just that I’m upset and spiraling. 

My biggest self care tool is reading. There is only one thing in the world that I love almost as much as reading and that is sleeping. If you were around much this weekend, you know that I read 9 books and posted 6 reviews, so it’s been pretty busy on that front. Unfortunately, it’s not worked. I have still felt my self slipping. 

I’ve stuck to my routine, which is important. I’ve been getting eight hours of sleep. I exercise. I eat well. I socialize with friends. I’ve been taking my meds, eating three square meals a day (I have no idea why they’re square) and still, I am at work, seconds from tears at all points of my day so far. It’s frustrating when you’re doing all the right things and taking care of yourself and your brain still gets to decide if your effort is worth anything. 

So, I’m taking this lunch break and physically inviting (reminding (berating)) myself to remember things that I CAN control. If I’m hungry, I can grab a snack. If I’m thirsty, I can always refill my water bottle. I can always be patient and kind to my students. I can always be organized and orderly with my things. I can always be patient and encouraging in my teaching. I can practice being patient with myself. I can take a break and get more rest tonight. Things I can control. 

What do you do on bad brain days? 

Leave a Reply

