Mid-Feb Goal Check

Why is it so hard to find something to put on in the background why I do this? Blah. This post is a Mid-month goal check where I review the goals I set at the beginning of the month and see where I am with them. Join me in ignoring the fact that it’s more like 3/4s into the month and let’s see what I have done so far! I set four goals in January for this month and they were:

  • Lose 10lbs
  • Write book reviews for all the books I read
  • Run 4 more 5ks
  • Eat more veggies

Lose 10lbs

Not to immediately begin making excuses, but this has been a crazy month! Facts first: as of this morning I have lost 4 of those 10lbs. Not bad. For the first two weeks this month, I was sick. The first week with the stomach flu. The second week with a cold/flu. I felt pretty terrible but!!! Despite that, I ate well, I just did not exercise. At all. In addition, I also started a new anti-psychotic and a new anti-depressant for my bi-polar depression. So, my appetite has been all over the place. The fact that I have lost any weight is spectacular, in my opinion. It was mostly diet, so big ups there. I’m going to keep on my steady course and try to squeeze another three pounds out of this month. Thank you, February.

Write book reviews for all the books I read

This goal seems pretty simple. When you account for my tendency to go straight from book to book though, you can see where it would get tricky. I have however written reviews for all the books I’ve finished! That’s pretty exciting. After all, I can’t exactly run a book blog without writing any reviews.

Run 4 more 5ks 

I don’t know why, but in my head 5ks are like the pinnacle of fitness. If you can do a 5k, you can do anything. That’s part of the reason why I enjoy doing them so much. As we are a little more than halfway through the month, I am exactly halfway through my goal. I ran 2 5ks last week, which was exciting mostly because it was the first week that I felt well enough to go to the gym in a while. With a week and a half left, I will hit the gym and get my last two 5ks done!

Eat More Veggies

This was such a vague goal and because of that, I can say, yes, I certainly am eating more veggies than I was before. I am accidentally eating less fruit. So, I need to fix this sliding scale somehow. A serving of each a day, at the very least.

Last minute goals 

  • Two glasses of water with lunch and dinner. With breakfast I have coffee, so I’m fine with one but generally, I need to drink more water.
  • Write in my gratitude journal everyday. Be grateful in all things.

Alright, that’s a wrap for this one! As always, thanks for hanging out. Comment below and tell me how you are doing on your goals for the month. There’s one more book review left from the weekend bulk reviews, so be looking out for that!

 

Leave a Reply

