Book Review: Weight by Jeanette Winterson

This is the sixth and final review from the Weekend Bulk Reviews. If you have made it through all six, I am eternally grateful and want to be your friend. If this is your first or you’ve only read a few, I still am eternally grateful and want to be your friend.

Weight: The Myth of Atlas and Heracles by Jeanette Winterson is about the myth of Atlas and Heracles. Atlas for reasons is charged with holding the weight of the world, Heracles for reasons needs Atlas to grab some apples for him so he takes the weight of the world for a while. I’ve said before mythology is one of my favorite subjects to read about so I was readily drawn into this book based solely on the subject.

I found Winterson’s Heracles to be one that I’ve not really encountered before. I found him immensely self interested and absorbed and I could see how it made up his intentions and decisions. She also painted Atlas in a way that I had never thought of. He was very caring and careful with the world and his punishment, and it was not just something that was thrown upon him. Overall, I thought it was a refreshing look at this story. I had never heard it told this way and I liked it a lot. The beginning and end had some vague narrative plots that were confusing and I’m unsure what purpose they served, but overall the story was very enjoyable. 3/5 stars for me.

Leave a Reply

