Joint Book Review: Graphic Novel Edition

Hello void friends, and welcome to part three of my week bulk review! Today we are reviewing three graphic novels. I made these joint reviews because they are shorter but I still enjoyed them immensely. They are Giant Days Volumes 1 and 2 and The Odyssey. Let’s get started.

Giant Days Volumes 1 and 2 by John Allison were my first experience with graphic novels in a few years and were a really nice re-introduction. The books follow a group of three new friends as they navigate college, studying, romantic relationships and personal relationships.

I personally found these books to be very fun! They were short reads and I found them to be very honest and relatable when it comes to the college experience. I also found them to be freaking hilarious! There were moments in Volume 2 were I found myself legit lol-ing in pubic space, it was such a fun experience. 10/10 would read again, will continue reading the series!

4/5 stars!

Next, I read The Odyssey by Gareth Hinds. It is essentially the epic poem by Homer in graphic novel form. This was not something that I knew that I wanted until I stumbled upon it at my library yesterday morning. One of my favorite subjects is Greek mythos, so I obviously had to grab and read.

The book follows Homers poem with really amazing graphics and translations. I found this to be a really cool version of the Odyssey. If this were your only point of reference for the epic, you’d obviously miss some of the finer details but I think you’d get a great big gist of the big details. The graphics are beautiful. The pacing and organization is beautiful. And I just think the concept was really neat. 3/5 stars for me.

That’s it for this one! Happy reading, void. UP NEXT: Missing you, Metropolis by Gary Jackson.

Leave a Reply

