Book Review: What Lies Between Us

Welcome to the first of the six weekend reviews!

To start us off, I read What Lies Between Us by Nayomi Munaweera earlier this week. I went into this story pretty excited and I was not let down at all. It was actually everything I wanted The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath to be: compelling, interesting, and riveting. I could not put this book down.

The book opens with a nameless woman in prison who is in jail for a crime that is unknown to us. She says that in order to understand we have to know the story, so of course, she tells us the story. And what a beautiful story! Growing up in the rich culture of Sri Lanka before immigrating to the busy California, our woman has an interesting life.

What I have to say about this book can be boiled down to this: What Lies Between Us is the most beautiful and compelling story I have read this year. It is a story that winds almost like molasses, sweet at every turn but slow enough that you don’t know what’s creeping up on you until it has already happened and then it’s the aftermath. There are parts of this book where I have to just stop and reflect, it’s almost prose poetry.

This book gets the full five out of five stars for me. If you haven’t read this book, read this book. Let it change your life.

Up next: Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward.

Leave a Reply

