Book Review: Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward

Welcome back, void friends! You’re now two for two for the weekend bulk reviews.

Up next, I read the remarkable Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward. It’s follows a family for the twelve days leading up to Hurricane Katrina. Our main character is a fourteen year old girl who just discovered she is pregnant. She is the only girl to three boys. Their father is an alcoholic, while they lost their mother to labor with the youngest boy, Junior.

There are several things that I love about this book. One is how fully fleshed these characters are over such a short period of time. Twelve days is not a long time but by the end of this book, I really felt like I knew this family.

Another thing I really loved was the main character Esch. She really loves Greek mythology which is probably one of my favorite subjects, ever. One of her archs is an unrequited love situation. She frequently compares the her love interest and herself to Medea and Jason which I adored on so many levels. I loved the tragedy that is the Medea, I loved the foreshadowing, I loved the casual insistence that poor black girls in Louisiana can be knowledgeable in Greek mythos, I loved the parallels between the story of Medea and of Esch.

I also loved the way the author wrote the family dynamics. They were very chaotic but still a very closeknit and loving family. Coming from a chaotic family myself, I found it relatable.

The book was very captivating and honest in a way I did not expect in the least. I adored this book. It gets the full five out of five stars for me.

Up next, graphic novel joint review! Giant Days Vol 1 and 2, and Gareth Hinds’ The Odyssey.

Leave a Reply

