Saturday Book Post

Hello, void friends! Happy Saturday all!

Today I read two books, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath and The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. Perks of being sick, for sure. I was pretty excited to read both of these books for different reasons, so let’s jump into it.

The Bell Jar follows college student Esther Greenwood as she navigates a month long internship and personal relationships. It also details her mental breakdown and following treatment. I had a lot of hopes for this book. Mostly because I was a fan of Plath’s poetry when I was in high school and living through my own sort of bell jar at the time. Also, a lot of people have raved about this book. Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed.

It was a nice read, I will admit that. I just didn’t find Esther compelling at all. In theory she was the kind of character you root for. However, I didn’t really have an emotional connection with her at all. I thought the concept was really interesting, but the execution left a lot to be desired. Although, it was pleasantly written. Three out of five stars for me.

In the words of Forrest Gump, that’s all I really have to say about that.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness follows a group of friends who are not exactly what you would typically call ‘the chosen ones’. The general idea behind the book is about finding the extraordinary in your ordinary.

I found the book completely interesting from the start. The main character Mikey is really compelling. He’s relatable while at the same time being honest. It follows him and his group of friends in the last few weeks of their senior year, while in the background an apocalypse of sorts is occuring. It also highlights Mikey’s relationship with his parents, with his friends, and with his anxiety disorder.

Even when I thought I knew exactly what was going to happen, I was still completely wrong. I loved it, I love being surprised. It doesn’t often happen. I also really enjoyed the way Patrick Ness wrote what it was like having an alcoholic parent. The relationship between Mikey and his father really resonated with me. This book is a solid four out of five stars.

Next up on my to-read is The Princess by Lori Wick, which I think will be a short and sweet read. I’m also still reading The Fifteen Lives of Harry August. I started reading it and then got distracted by Red Doc> and just haven’t picked it back up yet.

So, this is it for now. My first actual sort of book review(s). Let me know how I did, what you thought, and what books you would like to see. Also, let me know if you would like to be friends on Goodreads. I just really started (re)using it this year.

Until next time, thanks void!

Leave a Reply

