How I lost 19 pounds in one month: the good, the bad, the ugly 

Hello void friends, just want to at least write one post about my weight lost journey so far in January 2017. 

The good: I lost 19 pounds! I’m the smallest I’ve been in a year, I’m eating right, I’m active, I’m getting eight hours of sleep every single night, I’m generally feeling really good. 

This weight loss journey is about more than weight for me. It’s about finding new energy for life. This is especially difficult for me because I am recovering from an eating disorder. I want to weig less, yes, but I also want to enjoy things more. I want to feel more rested and be able to enjoy spending time with my friends. 

So, because I’m goal oriented, some goals: 

  1. Lose some weight 
  2. Eat better 
  3. Make time for friends 
  4. Make time for myself 
  5. Become more organize 
  6. But don’t become inflexible 
  7. Find some new hobbies 
  8. Learn new things 
  9. Read more 
  10. Drink 90oz of water a day

In January, I did all of those things. Which, exciting! But it doesn’t stop there. I endeavor to do all of those things every month. Now it’s time for the reverse. 

Here’s the bad: 

The meal plan I’m following had me eating a lot less than I was originally used to which means that for about a week and a half, I was hungry. All of the time. 

Because I’m in recovery from an ED, I still struggle not to make positive connotations with being hungry and eating less. I had to constantly remind myself that it was about eating healthy not eating less. I was also lucky enough to see results pretty quickly as well, which was a bit of nice in the rough. 

And the ugly: 

Unless you’re recovering from an addiction or an ED itself, I cannot explain to you what it is like to recover from an eating disorder. I have been in recovery for 6 months. It is a fight every single day. To eat, to not overeat, to not emotionally eat, to not weaponize eating, or my body, to be able to look at myself in the mirror, to listen to my body, to not punish and use exercise as a punishment, and to deal with the space that I take up at any given time. 

Losing weight is the easy part. Honestly. 

Anyways, that’s it for now. Quick goals for February: 

  • Lose 10lbs 
  • Write book reviews for all the books I read 
  • 4 more 5ks 
  • Eat more veggies 

Thanks void! – Danielle 

Leave a Reply

